It takes a village to raise a Queen’s Guide, part 2

And I’d also like to thank…

Queen’s Guide Buddy, my sister in guiding, for motivating us to get started with two years to go, and for innumerable other things. I suppose I ought to give her a new pseudonym once it’s all finished.

My Queen’s Guide mentor, who is high up on my list of role models.

My Guides and all the Guides, Senior Section and Leaders who came to camp with us in 2013 for giving me the chance to do my 60 hours’ practical guiding service. 2 terms + a week at camp = 281.5 hours.

The Brownies, Young Leaders and Leaders of the local unit that let me run their pack holiday, a) to take on a responsibility new to me at a residential event, and b) to get my Going Away With licence to be able to do my exploration.

My mentor for my Going Away With licence, another local Brown Owl who also was also my Adult Leadership Qualification mentor, lucky her!

Two local Guide leaders who assessed me for said licence, and the County Indoor Residential Adviser for approving it.

The girls and adults in my division who came on the pantomime trip I organised to take an active part in the planning of an event involving at least two units.

The girls and adults at the region camp where I got involved in a working group/committee (i.e. running an activity zone).

My local Rangers for listening to a presentation about said camp.

My friends and QGB’s friends and boyfriend who joined us for our exploration.

My Guides (again) for joining in with our report of said exploration.

My boyfriend and his family for giving me my first crochet hooks, not to mention lifts, meals, and generalised support.

The volunteers and paid staff at my local public library for letting me join them and answering my questions for my community project.

My district Trefoil Guild for listening to a report of said project.

The Brownies, Rainbows, Senior Section and adults from the town where I live (but don’t do guiding) who let me join in with their holiday to get my residential experience where the majority of participants were unknown to me.

My County Queen’s Guide Adviser, County Commissioner and County Outdoor Adviser, who will soon (short of unforeseen disaster) sign the whole thing off.

Leave a Reply

