Back to guiding!

We need a montage

Hello again! It’s been a while since I last wrote, so here’s a quick whiz through the last few months:

I did guiding business-as-usual in the summer term, but I got out of the habit of writing about it. I hope I’ll catch up on some of it here.

I went to county camp with my Guides in the summer holidays and that was pretty good all round.

At the end of the summer I moved to a different part of the country, following my partner’s work. And then – brace yourself for a shock – I had a whole half term away from guiding!

No guiding?

No guiding. For, like, more than two months. I highly recommend it if you get the chance, and moving to a new place was a very good chance for me to have a breather. I deliberately didn’t rush into finding a new unit because I knew that once I started it would be hard to stop again.

It’s been lovely having so many free evenings and weekends, and not constantly having whatever I need to plan for the next meeting/event in the back of my mind.

Apart from flick through Girlguiding magazine and sewing a few badges onto my blanket, I didn’t think or read anything about it at all.

As it happened, in the first week of my new job I met a colleague whose wife is a leader in the town where I live. I blurted out “I’m a guider too!” and over the next few days heard so much about how the district could do with more help that I put myself into Join Us! earlier than I’d intended. It worked out alright as it took a while for the Commissioner and me to arrange to meet up.

…and back

Over half term I met my local Commissioner for a coffee and almost straight away she offered me a choice of two Rainbow units. At the moment she’s running them on top of her own unit because they don’t have another willing leader. I chose the one that meets closer to my home, and arranged to start the next week!

I’m looking forward to being a Rainbow leader again. I did Rainbows all through university (my goodness, those girls will be Guides now), I’ve helped at various events involving Rainbows since then, and I always enjoy hanging out with them.

I don’t really know what I’m letting myself in for becoming a Unit Leader (the plan as I understand it is I’ll get more involved in running the unit between now and Christmas, and take over from Commissioner in January). We shall see!

2 thoughts on “Back to guiding!

Leave a Reply

