This is how we roll

Camping skills (3) - Copy

Today I’m flashing back to my Guides’ penultimate meeting of the summer term. We billed the evening as “outdoor and camping skills”, and had a vague idea what it was going to be but didn’t really plan what we’d do till the week before (because sometimes that’s how we roll).

Camping skills (5) - Copy

The Guides rotated between activities in patrols. We wanted them to be useful to those going on camp this year, but also interesting for those not. In the end they were:

  • bedding rolls: that was me. I like bedding rolls, though alas I’m not as exacting as Laurie’s CoLeader, hence the photos! I did a demo, varying the commentary depending on how experienced each group was, then divided the group between 2 bed rolls (2 or 3 girls on each) and got them to see who could make a decent bedding roll the fastest.
  • packing for camp: our new Young Leader did a game about picking cards with items written on them, and deciding whether or not to pack them for camp. It looked good from what I saw of it!
  • a mystery activity outside. I had a feeling this was something like a goodbye card for me, but I had to wait till the week after to find out exactly what they were up to.
  • Two more things which I’ve forgotten…one might have been fire lighting? The other was some kind of discussion with Unit Leader…maybe about how we stay happy and healthy on camp? She’s very good at getting a good conversation going, so I’m sure the girls enjoyed it, whatever it was.

So, a mixed evening, but I think the Guides were happy and maybe even learned a thing or two!

Leave a Reply

