Mermaids and Dragons

DSC_1146 (2)

…is a very cool fancy dress theme. For our last meeting of term, my Rainbows joined up with another nearby Rainbow unit for a Promise/Pot of Gold (= leaving Rainbows) party.

The other unit hosted us and chose the theme. Of course most people don’t have mermaid or dragon costumes (or so I thought), so we said the Rainbows could just wear something red or blue, or uniform (which is both red and blue). I was surprised by how many came in mermaid dresses, like the ones in the photo. I’m sure these weren’t around 20 years ago when I was a Rainbow. I’d definitely have wanted one.

We only had one dragon – you can see her snazzy dragon onesie in the photo.

Apart from the clothes, we didn’t actually do anything mermaid or dragon themed! It was quite a simple party. We:

  • played a few favourite games from each unit
  • ate party food – it’s not a party unless there are Party Rings
  • made Promises – 3 for me. Next time I’m kneeling on the floor, so I don’t have to either tower over the Rainbows or stoop down like I am in the photo
  • said goodbye to the Rainbows who are leaving – none of mine, as my three 7-year-olds have decided to stay for another term
  • gave everyone a little Easter egg on the way out

It was lovely to get together with the other unit. I found the other Unit Leader and I can lead things together quite happily. (I’d expected so, but it’s good to confirm it.) I met their Assistant Leader for the first time, and with three guiders around my mum helpers didn’t need to do much, so they got a break. I’ll definitely try to do it again next term.

Leave a Reply

