Rainbows do First Aid

20161117_172421.jpg

When I asked my Rainbows what they’d like to do in the autumn term, one thing they asked for was first aid.

Great idea, girls! Especially as one of the activities in the Roundabout we’re doing involves learning about the emergency services. I set aside a meeting in November for first aid funtimes.

I asked around a few charities to see if anyone could visit and teach us (as I’m sure the Rainbows would listen to them better and learn more), but had no luck, so I kept it simple with things I’m comfortable teaching.

We started with a Rainbow chat about emergencies and calling 999. This turned into a big sharing session about people they know who have been injured – in a few minutes we heard everything from grazed knees to heart attacks to one Rainbow’s cousin who swallowed a battery (and pooed it out).

Everyone loves a good injury story, but I thought we’d better not spend the whole hour telling them, so we moved on. We did a quiz about emergencies and first aid. We played a game where the Rainbows had to listen to a story and run when ‘their word’ was spoken. Then we practised putting bandages on dolls and cuddly toys, which was definitely what the Rainbows had been looking forward to.

I’m not sure if the Rainbows learned anything really useful, but it gave them a reminder of things they already know, and anything that gets them used to thinking about and talking about first aid can’t do any harm.

It was a bit of a strange evening, as my Unit Helpers couldn’t make it, so it was just me, a (lifesaving) mum helper, and a Guide who showed up early and was willingly roped into helping. They put up with our slightly crazy ways.

One sad thing: the Rainbow who first asked to do first aid and really wanted to do it, missed it. Her sister’s a Brownie, Brownies was cancelled that evening, and their parents thought that Rainbows was cancelled too. Sadface. I said we can do more next term. By that time, I might have found someone proper to come and teach us.

Leave a Reply

