Nights away

I’ve updated my list of nights away with Girlguiding  (because I’ve recently filled in a form that asked for them). It now covers 11 years, goodness gracious.

2006 – Briefing weekend for region international trip (2); region trip to the Netherlands (14).  Total 16

2007 – Weekend Guide camp (The Sound of Music theme) (2); Guide camp (Grease theme) (6); Brownie pack holiday (Robin Hood theme) (2).  Total 10

2008 – Region trip to Switzerland (14); Guide camp in Italy (7).  Total 21

2009 – SSAGO rally (can’t remember the theme!) (2); Guide camp (Big Brother theme) (2); Guide camp (circus theme) (6); SSAGO group Christmas trip (1).  Total 11

2010 – Guide camp (Malvern Challenge) (2); SSAGO rally (medieval theme) (2); county centenary camp (6); another county centenary camp (6); INTOPS (2).  Total 18

2011 – County training weekend (2); Guides night hike (1); 3 GOLD briefings (6); GOLD project in Russia (21); Guide camp (Alice in Wonderland theme) (2). Total 32

2012 – District Brownie holiday (Ancient Egyptian theme) (2); County Brownie holiday (Queen’s diamond jubilee theme) (2); Guide camp (Queen’s diamond jubilee theme) (6).  Total 10

2013 – Guides night hike (1); Guide camp in Spain (7); region camp (7).  Total 15

2014 – Brownie pack holiday (circus theme) (2); Guides night hike/sleepover (1); Brownie & Rainbow holiday (Down on the Farm theme) (2); Guide camp (Wild West theme) (5); Leaders’ sleepover (1); Queen’s Guide Award exploration in York (4).  Total 15

2015 – Guides night hike (1); Guides county camp (5); Brownie holiday (Around the World theme) (2); Leaders’ sleepover (1). Total 9

2016 – Brownie/Guide holiday (Gingerbread theme) (3); Guide night hike (1); Guide camp (adventure holiday in France (5); Rainbow sleepover (teddy bear theme) (1); Rainbow sleepover (Peter Rabbit theme) (1); Leaders’ sleepover (1). Total 12

Grand total: 169

 

3 thoughts on “Nights away

  1. brownieguideleader

    Oh my!! That is a HUGE number of nights away! I don’t think that i’d be anywhere near that, even counting every overnight i’ve done since I was a Brownie myself! I’ve never done any long camps. I think I once did a 5 day camp in Guides but other than that it’s been 3 days max.

    I’m so jealous of your international visits!! I can’t even imagine just taking the girls out of the country!! I think I need to move to the UK instead of this middle of nowhere island I live on! Italy for Guide camp??! WOW! 🙂

    And I just love some of the camp themes! Ancient Eygpt, Sound of Music, Big Brother! Do you remember any details from them? They sound like fun!!

    Reply
    1. Clare Post author

      International trips are great! Not that I’ve ever led one; I really admire the leaders who do, while I tag along and help and enjoy.

      I enjoyed remembering all the themes I’ve done as I wrote this post…think I might do some more posts on them, and on themes in general, watch this space 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Coming up with a theme | Guiding with a Smile

Leave a Reply

